Final Logo

The topic of my blog is “about me,” which made it difficult for me to decided exactly what logo would best describe me. Even though this activity is just for an assignment, making the decision of what represents me as a whole took a lot of time and trial and error. I am not at all artistically gifted so I knew right away that I had to choose something simple and straightforward. Therefore, I chose to make an raindrop with the colors that I believed best represented my topic and my hometown of Seattle, WA. Seattle is more that just a city for me; it is the epicenter of my youth. I admire Seattle’s open-minded nature and the beauty of the diversity of its inhabitants. Seattle has been a pioneer in social issues including legalizing gay marriage and medicinal marijuana. These qualities of strength and perseverance have inspired and motivated me to embrace all the things that make me unique and, most importantly, to not be afraid to stand up for what I believe in.

I began my logo illustration by constructing a circle using the ellipse tool and manipulated the top anchor to create a raindrop effect. Then, I spent some time perfect the shape of the droplet and making sure the proportions were correct. It took a lot of time to figure out exactly which colors to use for the gradients. I wanted to choose colors that complimented each other and best represented the essence of my topic and Seattle. Initially, I had inserted me initials, “E*T*G,” into the droplet. But after thinking about it, using just my initials was ineffective for a logo and confusing. Therefore, I changed it into an evergreen tree, which I constructed using the star tool and erasing everything but the top triangle. Once I made it the exact shape and size that I wanted, I replicated it two more times to create the body of the tree. Then, I used the rectangle tool to create the shape for the tree trunk. I am a lot happier with the evergreen tree instead of my initials because, for me, it represents the Pacific Northwest and Seattle. Even though I am more than where I come from, I believe that Seattle and the PNW have helped shape who I am today; we are all products of our environments. Hope you all like it!

ERIN-FINAL-LOGO

Leave a comment