Draft Audio Story

For my audio story, I could not decide who to interview and what to ask them when the topic is about me. I did not want to awkwardly ask my friends questions about how they felt about me or anything like that. So I decided to interview people that have influenced me and made me the person I am today. My family and friends have had such an incredible impact on my life and by getting a glimpse of their personalities, I feel that you will begin to understand more about how I became the person I am today. I began my interviews with a brief explanation about why I chose to talk to my interviewees. I wanted the focus to be more on them than on me. I am planning on conducting a few more interviews with my close friends, but these past two weeks have been crazy for us and we have not had time when we are all home yet. Therefore, I have my introduction and an interview with my friend and roommate, Lindsay Hatch, in my draft audio story. The questions I ask each person will vary, but the questions are to give you an idea of what kind of people they are. I am considering putting a background song behind their interviews but I don’t want to distract the listener too much from what is being said. This is a draft story and there will be more to come. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Draft Audio Story

  1. first off i think it was pretty cool how you used other people’s personality to show how you own was shaped. definitely the only one to use this sort of method, so props to you! i also think it was cool to use people close to you, but i think maybe a good strategy would be maybe interview someone who doesn’t know you as well, maybe a classmate or something. and see how they see you as a person taking in the fact they don’t know you as well. to see what kind of person you seem like to them, considering the topic is you i think a good view would me an etic one. other than that i think you did a great job!

    Like

  2. Hello Erin! I think you did a good job trying to think more outside the box when it comes to the audience getting to know you more through your friends. This is an easier way for you to show people who your are as a person by representing the personalities of the people you hang out with. Although i think that one thing you should try working on is your editing, such as in the beginning of your clip one of your words “because” cuts off at the end. Also there are some quiet spots that could probably be cut a bit more short. Another idea that I would also recommend trying is changing up the questions you ask your friends a bit more. I would ask them more questions that relate to you, like ask about their favorite moments with you, or a favorite trait that they love about you.

    Like

  3. Thanks for your feedback! I agree that this audio story needs some editing and I plan to do so when I add more interviews. I tried to stay away from asking people what their favorite things about me were because I think that hearing about them and getting a feel for their personalities shows how different and awesome they are and how much they have influenced my life. I am thinking of adding a conclusion statement that specifically talks about how they influence my life so wrap things up.

    Like

  4. Good start to your audio! I liked that you provided plenty of meat to your story so that it was all clear as to what you were doing. I would agree with other people on this comment thread as well and say that there is some editing to do. It is a little bit to long as well so after you edit the and’s and um’s out it should be closer to the required time!

    Like

  5. I thought your audio story was good. I don’t know if the time limit is 3 min or not for some reason i thought i read that somewhere and if it is i would edit your story down a little bit. If that isn’t true then i think it is a good length. Also think the technical glitches could be edited out. And i did like how you had someone ask you the questions instead of you just talking about yourself. I think like you said music could be distracting in the way your story is set up but if you find a good song i would say still use it. Overall i think it is well done and i am looking forward to the final story.

    Like

Leave a comment